## Judaism: Symbols of the Twelve Tribes of Israel

Before ancient Israel became a kingdom, it was ruled by 12 family groups, or tribes, who had land set aside for them. The tribes were descended from and named for two sons of Joseph – Ephraim and Manasseh – and ten sons of Jacob – Judah, Zebulun, Issachar, Reuben, Gad, Simeon, Benjamin,

Dan, Asher, and Napthali. There was originally a 13th tribe, that of Levi, third son of Jacob, but it had no land and was scattered over the lands of the other tribes. The function of the Levites was to preserve the law of God.

